Never, never, never give up !

It’ s 12:11am. I have just finished reading the most moving and emotionally impactful book I have ever read.  It is called The Hanoi Committment. It was written by Captain James Mulligan.  Capt. Mulligan was shot down over Vietnam in 1966. He spent nearly 4 years in solitary confinement and a total of nearly 7 years as a POW.  Throughout his captivity , he never , never gave up. He was courageous and selfless throughout his captivity. Suffering terrible injustices.  A good friend of mine recommended this book to me. He told me how he had been affected by the story  and was compelled to contact Captain Mulligan. Unbelievably , via a request to the publisher  Capt. Mulligan called my friend.  Captain Mulligan spoke with my friend at length further validating his compassion for his fellow man. I didn’t grow up in this country. In fact I am only a recent American, having become a citizen in 2006.   Capt. Jim Mulligan is a great American and a great man.  I wish I could meet him.  I would be  humbled to shake his hand.

2 comments so far

  1. Brian Fones on

    Mr. Haig, I thoroughly enjoy your 3M ESPE blog – well done. Nice to find one that is useful, candid and well – humane!

    I am somehwat reluctant to forward to you a tip on another great book. One that is all about never giving up against all odds. Please buy a bottle of ‘No-Doze” and get the coffee out for those late nights reading “Unbroken; A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption” by Laura Hillenbrand. A NY Times best seller for many months and an Amazon book of the month. She is also the author of “Seabiscuit” whch is a fantastic read as well and an amazing person with her own personal challenges.

    Your past perspective on Steve Jobs autobiography by Walter Isaacson and the influence of Apple on all was also insightful. His autobiographical story also could be a sequel to never giving up in another context.

    Too bad we can’t rid ourselves of PPT’s like Steve did although I do like his ideas on focus and simplicity. more faith in people over technology, amongst many others.

    Just like good dentistry.

    -BEF

    • 3M ESPE on

      Hi Brian,
      Thank you for your post. I ordered the book you recommended on one of my favorite sites Better World Books. It should be here next week. I am looking forward to reading it. Along the same lines as the book you recommended, my wife and I just returned from the movies. We saw Act of Valor. It is a very intense movie, almost a docu-drama based on real events and acts of outstanding bravery and , well…Valor. When the movie ended, there was absolute SILENCE in the theater. You could have heard a pin drop. Clearly everyone was affected by what they had just seen. It was time well spent.

      Best,

      Keith


Leave a Reply

