The Most Unlikely Places

Back in 2003 I was on vacation in the South of France with my family.  We’re at the beach and my kids start playing with some other kids, so the Dad of these children and I start chatting. He goes right into the ‘what do you do for a living?’ conversation (a pet peeve of mine) and I explain that I work at 3M in the marketing function.  Well, that was all he needed to proceed with talking my ear off about all that he and his company could do for me, yada, yada, yada. So I come back from the vacation and find an invitation to something called LinkedIn in my e-mail from this same guy. So, I accept his invitation and move on with life.

Skip ahead to 2007/2008 when LinkedIn became mainstream and I still have my one contact – the ‘what do you do for a living?’ guy; however, now I start to realize that this website might actually have some utility, so I start on a quest to see how many people I know (I’m at 518 and counting).  Every person who is connected to me I’ve either met in person or have had some sort of phone/e-mail communication with over the years (so I’m not padding my numbers!). How many people do you know?  Do you use LinkedIn? 

According to Hubspot’s State of Inbound Marketing Report 2011, LinkedIn outperforms Facebook and Twitter for generating the most conversions (i.e., acquiring a customer through this channel) for business-to-business companies.  Does it work for business-to-consumer, too?  Is it a tool you’re considering for your practice?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

