Pa$$woRd Pr0tEcTED!!

How many passwords do you have in your life right now? There’s one to login to your computer, another for accessing iTunes, another for accessing your bank, another for Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter – and so on and so forth.  I personally get crazy mad having to remember all these passwords, so you write them down and then you have a list of your passwords floating out there, which basically defeats the purpose of having passwords in the first place. 

Now, I understand the importance of having this information secure, so I’m not advocating less security.  And, to be honest, I had the importance of these pesky passwords stamped into my brain by an article I read online not too long ago (undoubtedly after inputting my subscription password). In the article, they mention just how quickly a hacker can break down your encryption if you use a simple password structure – in this instance it was “moose44”.  Apparently, this would take a hacking software less than a second to crack. Now, if you change that password to “moose44!.!.!.!” it now will take approximately 200,000 centuries! 

Perhaps this doesn’t pertain to dentistry, but it might just save some of your important documents from the hands of a hacker. How secure is your password system? Check out this online calculator and test out how long your chosen words would last under scrutiny.  G00d 1ucK!>!

2 comments so far

  1. Local Dentist on

    Wow… That is all I can say! I always knew that passwords meant little to anybody that really wanted to know information you are hiding, but I always just assumed that there was nothing I could do about it. I have had problems remembering passwords due to how many files I generally have to secure at a time. I would try and make one common theme in my passwords and change a letter or a number so it would be easier to recall but I knew that it wouldn’t pose much of an obstical if a professional hacker wanted to crack it. Great information, you have just saved not only my business’s secrets but also my family’s. Thank you very much.

  2. 3M ESPE on

    I’m glad you found the article useful – it certainly had an impact on me too. Thank you for your comments.


Leave a Reply

