Nothingness

People who know me know that I exercise a lot. I find it’s the only time that my mind goes absolutely blank, which I really relish as a form of stress relief. Maybe it’s a cliché, but I think there’s a big difference in men’s and women’s abilities to clear their minds this way. My wife can ask me what I’m thinking about, and when I say “nothing,” she thinks I’m being evasive. But the truth is I really am thinking about nothing. (I’m sure this has already been discussed in “Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus,” but I’ve been a little too busy of late to read up on it.)

Can you think of nothing? When the pressures of running your own business get to you, what is your preferred form of stress relief?

3 comments so far

  1. David on

    I have had the exact same experience with a woman in my life. She gets very frustrated by that answer too. But really, I was not thinking about anything at the moment she asked me. Very strange or???

  2. 3M ESPE on

    David,

    A friend of mine from the Czech Republic just sent me this link. It is a short clip of Mark Gungor talking about the very subject. About three minutes into the clip he talks about…. Nothing 🙂
    Check it out. It is hilarious.

  3. David on

    Yes! That appears to sum it up! So there is nothing strange about this and it is universal.

    this must be why I get nervous when my wife comes home… I can’t spend anymore time in the nothing box!


Leave a Reply

